index
facebook email share to friends A A A 繁體 简体
Share to Facebook Share to Facebook
Dementia

Dementia

A local study showed that nearly 9% of people aged 70 or above were suffering from different degrees of dementia, in which the prevalence increased with age. Although most people with dementia are older adults, it is possible for people aged under 65 to suffer from early onset dementia.

If people suffer from dementia, decline in cognitive function is beyond what might be expected from normal ageing. Besides memory, other cognitive functions such as comprehension, judgement and language ability also decline obviously. All these will cause inconvenience to daily life. They may also need more assistance and care from others gradually.

Suspected of suffering from dementia, our immediate reaction may be fear, fearing that we may gradually “lose” ourselves or “lose” our most beloved ones. This is perfectly understandable. Fortunately, studies show that early detection and proper treatment can help delay the decline in cognitive function, and maintain quality of life.

At the early stage of dementia, affected individuals may become forgetful of recent events, leading to repeated questioning or repeatedly doing the same thing. Sometimes, they may suspect their belongings are stolen as they cannot remember where they have put them. They may experience difficulties with communication because they may be unable to find the appropriate words or to comprehend abstract concepts.

In daily life, they may forget appointments or get lost since they get confused with time, place and people. Their judgment and comprehension may be impaired. For example, they may no longer be able to deal with their financial matters independently. Besides, their ability to cope with emergencies may also decline. They may even find difficulty in doing things they used to be familiar with, e.g. cooking, laundry, bathing, etc.

Since the ability to control behaviour is impaired, they may act inappropriately in the public, e.g. talking about private issues openly. Some of them may have difficulty in controlling their emotions, hence becoming emotionally unstable, anxious or suspicious. Some may even become passive and lose interest in people or matters they were previously concerned.

What can you do if you or someone you know have similar conditions?

Step One: Professional Assessment
If you or your family member is suspected to be suffering from dementia, do seek consultation from doctors as soon as possible in order to get proper treatment.

Step Two: Appropriate Treatment and Support

Numerous evidence-based drug and non-drug treatments are now available to help delay the decline in cognitive function, and alleviate emotional and behavioral disturbance.

Drug Treatment
Doctors may prescribe drugs for treating dementia considering the etiology and the individual’s condition. Those who are affected by mental distress, such as feeling down or insomnia, can enquire doctors whether drug treatment is needed.

Non-Drug Treatment
Cognitive training, daily living skills training, and appropriate physical and social activities can all promote the affected individuals’ communication, orientation and self-care abilities, delaying the decline in cognitive function. Adjustment in daily life, such as assisting the individuals to arrange regular daily schedule, building up a safe and comfortable living environment, utilising tools like dairy and home cue to reduce inconvenience, can help improve quality of life.

Support and Training to Carers
The affected individuals may need help for self-care, so participating in carers’ support and training, like communication skills workshops, can help understand dementia, master caregiving skills, and resolve different difficult situations.

Step Three: Listen Empathetically and Walk together

Keeping good communication with the affected individuals will not only help understand their constraints and needs, but also provide them with support and alleviate their helplessness, thereby enhancing mutual relationship and quality of life.

Avoid to:

  • Chat in noisy places.
  • Communicate with ordering, yelling or in the way with kids.
  • Argue with the affected individuals when they hold a different view because it only makes both parties feel worse.

Try to:

  • Emphasise non-verbal communication, e.g. calm attitude, eye contact, smile, etc.
  • Understand and accept others’ feelings. Judging right or wrong should be of a less concern.
  • Give the other space and time to calm down first when argument arises.

On the journey of caregiving, carers face long-term challenges physically and mentally. Support from family and friends, as well as utilising community resources, e.g. participation in family support group, can significantly reduce carers’ stress. Carers have to take good care of themselves first to walk together with the affected individuals.

If you wish to get more relevant information, please call:

Department of Health - Elderly Health Service 24-hour Hotline: 2121 8080
Hospital Authority Mental Health 24-hour Hotline: 2466 7350
Social Welfare Department 24-hour Hotline: 2343 2255
Christian Family Service Centre - Mind-Lock Memory and Cognitive Training Centre: 2793 2138
Hong Kong Alzheimer’s Disease Association: 2338 1120
Jockey Club Centre for Positive Ageing: 2636 6323
St. James Settlement - Kin Chi Dementia Care Support Service Centre: 2831 3220

Top

主頁
facebook email share to friends A A A 繁體 EN
share to facebook share to twitter
认知障碍症

认知障碍症

本地研究显示,七十岁或以上的人士中,有近9%患上不同程度的认知障碍症,而患病率亦会随年龄增加。虽然认知障碍症患者多属年长人士,但其实六十五岁以下的人士也有可能患上「早发性认知障碍症」。

若患上认知障碍症,脑部衰退情况比一般的正常老化所带来的转变严重,除了记忆力之外,其他认知功能如理解能力、判断力、语言能力等都会出现明显退步,为日常生活带来不便,或渐渐需要他人协助和照顾。

怀疑患上认知障碍症,我们即时的反应可能是害怕,害怕渐渐「失去」自己,「失去」至亲,这是可以理解的。幸好,愈早发现,配合合适的诊治和训练,研究证明是有助延缓认知能力的衰退,并且保持生活的质素。

患上认知障碍症的人初期会容易忘记最近发生的事情,令他们重复发问,或做相同的事,有时又会因忘记东西的摆放位置而怀疑遭偷窃。他们可能会词不达意或难以理解一些抽象概念,于是在沟通时遇到障碍。

在日常生活上,有些患者会对时、地、人感到混乱,因而忘记约会或迷路。他们的判断力和解难能力可能会下降,例如失去以往能够独立处理财务的能力。除此之外,当遇上一些突发事情,他们可能不懂如何应付。即使处理平时熟悉的事情如煮饭、洗衣服、洗澡等,他们都可能会出现困难。

由于控制行为的能力受损,他们或会在社交场合出现一些不恰当的行为,如公开讨论一些私人话题。有些患者会因调节情绪能力下降而情绪起伏不定,焦虑不安或多疑;有些更会变得被动,对以往关心的人和事失去兴趣。

若你留意到自己或身边的人遇到类似情况,可以怎样做呢?

第一步:专业评估
如怀疑自己或家人患上认知障碍症,请尽快寻求医生的评估,以及早获得合适的治疗。

第二步:合适治疗及支援

研究指出药物治疗和非药物治疗能有助延缓认知能力的衰退,以及舒缓情绪或行为方面的困扰。

药物治疗
医生会因应病因和病情处方合适的认知障碍症药物,如患者出现情绪或精神困扰,如情绪低落或失眠,可向医生查询是否需要接受有关药物治疗。

非药物治疗
认知训练、日常生活技能训练、适当的体能及社交活动等,都有助促进患者的沟通、环境定向和自理等能力,延缓认知能力的退化。日常生活中的调适,如协助患者安排有规律的生活日程、建立安全而舒适的居住环境、利用提示工具,如日记簿、家居提示,以减低生活中的不便等,都能助患者提升生活质素。

照顾者支援及训练
认知障碍症患者可能需要依靠他人的照顾,参与照顾者支援及训练,如沟通技巧训练,能有助其了解认知障碍症、掌握照顾技巧,以及解决不同的困难处境。

第三步:用心聆听 与之同行

与患者保持良好的沟通,可理解他们的限制和需要,亦可让患者感到被支持和减轻他们的无助感,从而提升彼此的关系和生活质素。

请避免:

  • 在嘈杂的环境中对话。
  • 以命令、呼喝或与小孩说话般的方式跟患者沟通。
  • 在意见不同时,与患者争论,这只会使双方更难受。

可尝试:

  • 着重非语言沟通,如平和的态度、眼神接触、微笑等。
  • 谅解和肯定对方背后的情感,事情的对与错反而是其次。
  • 遇有争论,先给对方空间和时间去平静下来。

在照顾的旅途上,照顾者身心都面对长时间的考验,家人和朋友的支持,以及善用社区资源,如参与家属支援小组,能大大舒缓照顾上的压力。请紧记,照顾者要先好好照顾自己,才能与患者同行下去。

想知道更多有关资讯,请致电:

衞生署长者健康服务24小时热线:2121 8080
医院管理局24小时精神科电话谘询服务:2466 7350
社会福利署热线:2343 2255
基督教家庭服务中心-智存记忆及认知训练中心:2793 2138
香港认知障碍症协会:2338 1120
赛马会耆智园:2636 6323
圣雅各福群会-健智支援服务中心:2831 3220