index
facebook email share to friends A A A 繁體 简体
Share to Facebook Share to Facebook
Anxiety Disorders

Anxiety Disorders

Everyone will feel worry every now and then. When we expect to encounter challenging or dangerous situations, anxiety will act like a fire alarm to alert us the possible dangers ahead and to make preparation.

Nevertheless, when anxiety affects our daily life, like learning or social functioning, to the extent that it causes significant distress or body discomforts, you may be suffering from anxiety disorders. According to a local study, anxiety disorders affected around 7% teenagers in Hong Kong, and one of the most common anxiety disorders is generalised anxiety disorder.

Generalised anxiety disorder often begins in adolescents. The affected teens cannot help but worry about these and other things such as school work and peer relationships. This situation is like a defective fire alarm, triggering false alarms that make individuals fall into a constant state of alert, always thinking of something bad will happen.

These individuals worry very much about everyday things, making them hard to focus on study or other activities. They will need constant reassurance from others or avoid certain situations or activities because of fear. As they are constantly stressed, they may feel muscle tension, palpitations or out of breath. Headache, gastrointestinal discomfort and shaking hands are also very common. Furthermore, they may sleep poorly and have nightmare. Over time, they will be emotionally disturbed, easily startled and throw tempers frequently.

If some of the above conditions occur over a period of time and affect your daily life, please consider seeking advice from professionals.

What can you do if you or someone you know have similar conditions?

Step One : Professional Assessment
We will see a doctor when we are feeling ill. Likewise, if you or someone you know suffer from anxiety, do seek professional assessment from doctor or clinical psychologist to prevent the condition from getting worse.

Step Two : Appropriate Treatment

If treatment is indicated upon assessment, there are treatments that have been clinically proven to be effective for anxiety disorders.

Psychological Treatment
Health care workers will first understand the situation and come up with a treatment plan together with the affected individual. The individual will then be guided to modify negative way of thinking step-by-step, and to learn about anxiety management techniques, e.g. relaxation exercises. Through treatment, the individual can establish a healthier way of thinking and lifestyle.

Drug Treatment
Doctor may prescribe drugs after assessing the condition of the individuals.

Step Three : Listening Empathetically and Walk together

When our loved ones suffer from anxiety, we may try to find solutions to help them. However, this may put the individuals under even greater stress as they cannot control their worries.

Avoid to say:
“You think too much! What is there to worth about?”
“You should relax!”

Try not to think of solutions. Spare more time to listen, understand and to accept his/her feelings and needs at the moment:

Try to say:
“You are always so tense, I know you must be feeling terrible.”
“Let’s look for help together. Take your time. I’ll keep you company.”

When facing anxiety, great courage and determination are needed to seek assessment and treatment. The encouragement and company of family and friends throughout the process will be important to the recovery.

If you wish to get more relevant information, please call:

Hospital Authority Mental Health 24-hour Hotline: 2466 7350
Social Welfare Department Hotline: 2343 2255

Top

主頁
facebook email share to friends A A A EN 简体
share to facebook share to twitter
焦慮症

焦慮症

每個人一生中都曾經歷過焦慮不安的時刻,當我們預計會遇到考驗或危險時,焦慮情緒就像火警鐘響起,提醒我們留意可能會出現的危機,好讓我們作出準備。

但當焦慮情緒影響到日常生活,如學習或社交,令你極度苦惱,甚至引起身體不適的時候,你可能正經歷焦慮症了。本地研究顯示,焦慮症影響著近7%的青少年,其中一種常見的焦慮症是廣泛性焦慮症。

廣泛性焦慮症很多時候始於青少年階段,當事人會不由自主地過分擔心生活上的大小事情如學業、朋輩間的相處等。情況就好像火警鐘失靈了,不斷「誤鳴」,使他長期處於戒備狀態,總是怕更糟的情況會發生。

由於滿腦子時常環繞不同的擔心,他們在學習或活動時會難以集中精神,或在不同事情上需要再三尋求他人的肯定,有時甚至會因擔憂而出現逃避行為。難以放鬆的狀態令他們肌肉繃緊,有時又會突然心跳加速或覺得透不過氣來。因緊張而出現頭痛、腸胃不適及手震的情況都是常見的。此外,他們的睡眠質素很多時候都很差,有時更會發惡夢。長久下來會令到他們情緒不安,容易受驚嚇或發脾氣。

若上述某些情況持續一段時間,並且影響到日常生活,請考慮尋求專業人士的意見。

若你留意到自己或身邊的人遇到類似情況,可以怎樣做呢?

第一步:專業評估
身體出現不適,我們會去找醫生接受診斷,對症下藥。同樣地,若你或身邊的人正受焦慮困擾,請及早接受醫生或臨床心理學家的專業評估,以防止情況惡化。

第二步:合適治療

若評估發現有治療需要的話,現時有不少臨床實證的治療可幫助我們處理焦慮症。

心理治療
醫護人員會先了解當事人的情況,再共同訂立一套治療計劃,循序漸進地改變其負面思想和學習處理焦慮的技巧(如鬆弛練習),從而建立一個更健康的思考和生活模式。

藥物治療
醫生會視乎需要處方藥物。

第三步:用心聆聽 與之同行

當我們所關心的人受焦慮困擾,我們很自然會想辦法解決,但這樣有時可能會給予對方壓力,因為當事人正是無法控制自己的擔憂。

請避免說:
「你諗多咗啦!有咩好驚呢?」
「你放鬆啲啦!」

嘗試先放下急於解決問題的想法,騰出空間去聆聽、明白並接受對方的感受和此時此刻的需要。

可嘗試說:
「成日都咁緊張,我知你都好辛苦。」
「我哋一齊去搵幫手,慢慢嚟,我會陪住你。」

當事人在面對焦慮時,需要無比的勇氣和決心去接受評估和治療。在過程中,家人和朋友的鼓勵和陪伴,都是復元中重要的一環。

想知道更多有關資訊,請致電:

醫院管理局24小時精神科電話諮詢服務:2466 7350
社會福利署熱線:2343 2255

頁首